الطريق إلى ماونا لوا

الطريق حتى ماونا لوا | تصوير: مايكل ماغي، 2013

فترة المفعلة: 2008 - 2015

CO2كان Now.org عنوان الرسمي ل "CO الأرض2 الصفحة الرئيسية "من سبتمبر 1، 2008، حتى نوفمبر 10، 2015. وقد تم إطلاق الموقع كبديل ل themosimportantnumber.org حيث نشر على الصفحة الأولى من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي2 بدأت قراءات في وقت متأخر من 2007. في نوفمبر 11، 2015، CO2كان Now.org الاستعاضة عن هذا الموقع، CO2.أرض، ك عضو مؤسس للمجتمع .earth جديد.

حركة المرور في الموقع

2010 القطعة الترويجي رايةعلى مدى عمر نشط من CO2Now.org، نمت حركة المرور من حول 20,000 زائر شهريا إلى 50,000.

عندما CO2أطلقت Now.org في سبتمبر 2008، بيعت مجموعة من الحاجيات الموقع. وتثبيت الآلاف من اصحاب المواقع في جميع أنحاء العالم على الرسومات تحديث النفس على موقعهم التي تظهر دائما على أحدث CO في الغلاف الجوي2 قراءات. في غضون عام، "CO2 وبلغت يعرض "مع هذه الحاجيات 5 مليون شخص على الأقل في السنة. وصلت بسرعة وبعد ذلك تعرض لرتبة صفحة جوجل 7 / 10.

ثاني أكسيد الكربون2الآن صفحة الفيسبوك شنت سبتمبر 24، 2012 وكان 2900 يحب بحلول نوفمبر تشرين الثاني 2015. تويترCO2الآن موضوع بدأ في وقت سابق، وكان أتباع 5200 بحلول نوفمبر تشرين الثاني 2015.

CO الأرض2 الصفحة الرئيسية

الصور أدناه موقع المعرض الخالق مايكل ماغي مع "شركة الأرض2 الصفحة الرئيسية "التي تعرض ماونا لوا CO2 قراءات لشهر يوليو 2010 ويوليو 2013.

مايكل ماغي: 2010 و2013

7 قطع غيار اضافية لكل مليون في 3 سنوات
مايكل ماكغي (يسار) | أغسطس 2010: الصفصاف بيتش، فيكتوريا، كندا | الصورة من قبل دونغ قوه

مايكل ماكغي (يمين) | أغسطس 2013: مرصد ماونا لوا في هاواي، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية | الصورة من قبل جون بارنز

تجارب في بإعادة توزيع بيانات الغلاف الجوي

استخدام ثاني أكسيد الكربون2الآن على شبكة الإنترنت، وكانت وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية والحاجيات أكثر الإنجازات البارزة في السنوات 7 التي كانت تعمل CO2Now.org. وكان هذا المشروع إلى حد كبير سلسلة من التجارب الرسمية. وفيما يلي بعض المبادرات الأخرى أدناه.

CO2 ركن المتحدثين

أ "CO2 ركن المتحدثين "أنشئت على سبيل التجربة في استخدام الفيديو للمطالبة مزيد من النقاش حول CO2 الغلاف الجوي. وأطلق عليها" أول سجل الفيديو الأرض حول CO في الغلاف الجوي2". وقد أنتجت فيديو واحد فقط، وظهرت طالب دراسات عليا مايفا غوتييه أثناء مشاركتهم في الطلاب 2009 على الجليد بعثة علمية إلى القارة القطبية الجنوبية. فيديو ثبت أن comunications الغنية المتوسطة لكنها كانت الموارد مكثفة. لا متابعة ركن المتحدثين لم يتم بعد إنتاج الفيديو.

فيميو 2009 CO2 ركن المتحدثين | غوتييه | القطب الجنوبي

DeSmogBlog 2009 مكبرات الصوت ركن يجعل البيانات CO2 الغلاف الجوي في متناول

CO2 نشرات في طباعة

في أواخر 2009، بدأت صحيفة محلية في نيلسون، كولومبيا البريطانية، كندا، ونشر النشرات الأسبوعية يضم CO في الغلاف الجوي2 قراءات. رعيت نشرات عن طريق وكيل عقاري في المنطقة، XYZ. ال نيلسون ديلي نيوز نشر التحديثات لمدة تسعة أشهر حتى تم إغلاقه من قبل الملاك الجدد بعد تغطية الأخبار لمدة قرن.

NDN 2010 مكافحة الكربون وتبقي العين على البيئة (الصفحة 1) [جزء 1 + جزء 2]

CO2 على شاشة التلفزيون الجماعة

في 2009، ديلوريس مقاطعة التلفزيون (DCTV) في ولاية كولورادو (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، وذلك بالتعاون مع جامعة ولاية كولورادو، بدأت التقارير CO الأسبوعية2 تحديثات عندما بدأ نوا نشر القراءات الأسبوعية في الوقت الحقيقي تقريبا. بعد وقت قصير من مبادرة DCTV، تعاونت مدير محطة دان فرنانديز مع ثاني أكسيد الكربون2حان مايكل ماغي لتوريد الرسومات المستخدمة خلال نشرات الأخبار التي تقودها طلاب المدارس الثانوية. يستمر هذا التعاون. الآن، وثاني أكسيد الكربون2 الرسومات نوا الائتمان للبيانات المصدر وCO2.Earth لتوريد الرسومات.

CO2Now.org تظهر CO في الغلاف الجوي2 على التلفاز

CO2Now.org ثاني أكسيد الكربون الأول2 بث البيانات على وجه الأرض

مبادرات أخرى

CO2وقد شاركت Now.org ومؤسس مايكل ماغي في هذه الأنشطة:

  • شارك في تنظيم (مع جامعة فيكتوريا مكتب الاستدامة الحرم الجامعي) ل فحص تغييرا ولوحة العلوم النقاش حول تحمض المحيطات كجزء من اليوم العالمي الأول للعمل المناخي في أكتوبر 24، 2009 (حدث عالمي بقيادة 350.org)
  • ساهمت لقطات الفيديو التي اختارها يوتيوب / المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ل فيديو المزج (انظر ماغي في 1: 21) على البيئة تبين أن الوفود المشاركة في المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي 2009 في دافوس بسويسرا
  • تعاونت مع الفنان / المؤلف فرانك جيمس ومصمم / مطور بيل جيمس لإنتاج CO2 محمصة القطعة يمكن أن تكون جزءا لا يتجزأ في أي موقع. في 2010، ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 وقد تم اختيار محمصة القطعة للعرض في معرض العلوم-فني على الإنترنت

مستقبل CO2Now.org

CO2تم استبدال Now.org من ثاني أكسيد الكربون2.أرض. الموقع القديم لا يزال هناك. لكن الروابط والدلائل تشير زوار ثاني2.أرض. من المرجح أن تكون قد نزعت الموقع منتصف 2017.

مستقبل CO2الآن الحاجيات

إذا قمت بتثبيت ثاني أكسيد الكربون2Now.org كود القطعة على موقع الويب الخاص بك قبل نوفمبر 11، 2015، يرجى استبدال ذلك في أقرب وقت ممكن. هو جديد كود موقع القطعة متوفرة في Show.Earth، وهو موقع الشقيقة لثاني أكسيد الكربون2.أرض. تحديث القانون لديها هذه الفوائد:

  • سوف الحاجيات القابلة للنقر يشير مباشرة إلى CO2.أرض
  • القانون الجديد هو استجابة لتعزيز السلوك مع الأجهزة المحمولة
  • لن تكون هناك مفاجآت في 2017 (أو أحدث) عندما CO القديم2لم تعد تحديث الحاجيات Now.org.

Road to Mauna Loa

The Road Up Mauna Loa  |  Photo by Michael McGee, 2013

 

Active Period: 2008 - 2015

CO2Now.org was the official web address for "Earth's CO2 Home Page" from September 1, 2008, until November 10, 2015.  The site was launched as a replacement for themosimportantnumber.org where front-page posting of atmospheric CO2 readings began late in 2007.  On November 11, 2015, CO2Now.org was replaced by this site, CO2.Earth, as a founding member of the new .earth community.

 

Site Traffic

2010 Widget Promo BannerOver the active lifetime of CO2Now.org, traffic grew from about 20,000 unique visitors per month to 50,000.

When CO2Now.org launched in September 2008, it rolled out a series of website widgets.  Thousands  of website owners around the world have installed a self-updating graphic on their site that always shows the latest atmospheric CO2 readings.  Within a year, 'CO2 displays' with these widgets totalled at least 5 million per year.   It quickly reached and then sustained a Google Page Rank of 7/10.

The CO2Now Facebook page launched September 24, 2012 and had 2900 likes by November 2015.  The Twitter @CO2Now thread started earlier and had 5200 followers by November 2015. 

 

Earth's CO2 Home Page

The images below show site creator Michael McGee with 'Earth's CO2 Home Page' that display Mauna Loa CO2 readings for July 2010 and July 2013.

 

Michael McGee: 2010 and 2013

7 Extra Parts Per Million in 3 Years
Michael McGee (left)  |  August 2010: Willows Beach, Victoria, Canada  |  Photo by Dong Guo

Michael McGee (right) |  August 2013: Mauna Loa Observatory, Hawaii, USA  |  Photo by John Barnes

 

 

Experiments in Redistributing Atmospheric Data

 

The usage of the CO2Now website, social media and widgets were the most notable achievements in the 7 years that CO2Now.org was operated.  The project was largely a series of informal experiments.  Some other initiatives are listed below. 

 

CO2 Speakers' Corner

A "CO2 Speakers' Corner" was set up as an experiment in the use of video to prompt more discussion about atmospheric CO2.  It was dubbed "Earth's first video log about atmospheric CO2."  Only one video was produced.  It featured graduate student Maeva Gauthier while participating in a 2009 Students on Ice scientific expedition to Antarctica.  Video proved to be a rich comunications medium but it was resource intensive.  No follow up speakers' corner video has yet to be produced.

Vimeo 2009  CO2 Speakers' Corner | Gauthier | Antarctica

DeSmogBlog 2009   Speakers Corner makes atmospheric CO2 data accessible

 

CO2 Bulletins in Print

In late 2009, a local newspaper in Nelson, British Columbia, Canada, started publishing weekly bulletins featuring atmospheric CO2 readings.  The bulletins were sponsored by a real estate agent in the area, xyz.  The Nelson Daily News published the updates for nine months until it was closed by new owners after reporting the news for a century.

NDN 2010  Carbon counter keeps eye on environment (page 1) [Part 1 + Part 2]

 

CO2 on Community TV

In 2009, Delores County Television (DCTV) in Colorado (USA), in association with Colorado State University, began reporting weekly CO2 updates when NOAA started posting weekly readings in near-real time.  Soon after the DCTV initiative, station manager Dan Fernandez collaborated with CO2Now's Michael McGee for the supply of graphics used during news broadcasts that are led by high-school students.  The collaboration continues.  Now, the CO2 graphics credit NOAA for the source data and CO2.Earth for graphics supply.

CO2Now.org  Show atmospheric CO2 on TV

CO2Now.org The first CO2 data broadcast on earth

 

Other Initiatives

CO2Now.org and founder Michael McGee have been involved in these activities:

  • Co-organized (with the University of Victoria campus sustainability office) a screening of A Sea Change and science panel discussion on ocean acidification as part of the first international day of climate action on October 24, 2009 (a global event spearheaded by 350.org)
  • Contributed video footage selected by YouTube/WEF for a mashup video (see McGee at 1:21) on the environment shown to delegates at the 2009 World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland
  • Collaborated with artist/author Franke James and designer/developer Bill James to produce a CO2 Toaster widget that can be embedded on any website.  In 2010, the CO2 Toaster widget was selected for display in an online science-art exhibit

 

Future of CO2Now.org

CO2Now.org has been replaced by CO2.Earth.  The old site is still there.  But the links and signs point visitors to CO2.Earth.  The site will likely be decommissioned mid-2017.

 

Future of CO2Now Widgets

If you installed CO2Now.org widget code on your website before November 11, 2015, please replace it at your earliest convenience.  New website widget code is available at Show.Earth, a sister site for CO2.Earth.  Updating the code has these benefits:

  • Your clickable widgets will point directly to CO2.Earth
  • The new code is responsive for enhanced behaviour with mobile devices
  • There will be no surprises in 2017 (or later) when the old CO2Now.org widgets are no longer updated.