غرينلاند الجليدي الأساسية

غرينلاند الأساسية الجليد في المتحف الأمريكي للتاريخ الطبيعي، نيويورك (صورة اقتصاص)

مصدر الصورة عدن، جانين وجيم | CC BY 2.0

وأبعد إلى الوراء يمكنك أن تبحث،
وأبعد إلى الأمام أنت من المحتمل أن نرى.

~ ونستون تشرشل

ظهرت الحضارة الإنسانية منذ 12,000 عاما، وظهرت العاقل منزل في "دينا" الشكل الحالي حوالي سنة 200,000 قبل. دراسة مستويات CO2 الماضية والمناخات الماضية تساعدنا undersand والحالة التي وضعت المجتمعات البشرية. تقدم هذه المعلومات "المناخ القديم" الدروس المهمة لفهم الاستدامة ومجموعة من الظروف المناخية التي تعرف المجتمعات البشرية لتكون مناسبة ل.

لفهم المناخ في الماضي، وتقدم العينات الجليدية سجل عالية الدقة من المتغيرات المناخية الرئيسية التي تمتد في الفترة التي ظهرت الإنسان العاقل والحضارة الإنسانية تطويرها. وبصرف النظر عن القياسات CO2 عالية الدقة التي بدأت تشارلز كيلينغ في القطب الجنوبي في 1957 ومرصد ماونا لوا في 1958، العينات الجليدية هي أفضل مصدر للبيانات CO2 الغلاف الجوي لل1 مليون السنوات السابقة.

تم العلماء حفر الصفائح الجليدية وتحليل العينات الجليدية منذ 1950s، ولا سيما في القارة القطبية الجنوبية وغرينلاند. المناطق التي تتراكم بدورها الثلوج على الجليد مع فقاعات الهواء التي تحافظ على عينات من الغلاف الجوي من أجواء عالم الماضي. العلماء قادرون على تحليل النوى لمعرفة المزيد عن التغييرات الأخيرة في تركيز الغازات في الغلاف الجوي والدورات الجليدية-جليديين لمليون سنة الماضية.

هنا، استخدم CO2 البيانات والرسوم البيانية لاستكشاف التغيرات في الماضي، من ألف إلى مليون سنة قبل الوقت الحاضر.

البحوث الأساسية الجليد

نوا NCEI البيانات الأساسية الجليد

نوا NCEI نوا مجموعات البيانات الأساسية علم المناخ القديم الجليد

NSIDC مركز بيانات Glaciological القطب الجنوبي

EGU 2013 العثور على سجل مليون سنة 1.5 المناخ الأرض

المقالات

ناسا 2005 علم المناخ القديم: كور سجل الجليد

SKS لقد تم من خلال التغيرات المناخية قبل

CO2 الماضي. CO2 الحاضر. CO2 المستقبل.

Greenland Ice Core

Greenland Ice Core at American Museum of Natural History, New York (image cropped)

Source Image  Eden, Janine & Jim | CC BY 2.0


The farther backward you can look,
the farther forward you are likely to see.

~ Winston Churchill


Human civilization emerged about 12,000 years ago, and home sapiens appeared in 'our' present form about 200,000 years ago.  The study of past CO2 levels and past climates helps us undersand the condition in which human societies developed.  This 'paleoclimate' information offers important lessons for understanding sustainability and the range of climatic conditions that human societies are known to be suited for.

To understand past climates, ice cores provide a high-resolution record of key climate variables that span the period in which homo sapiens appeared and human civilization developed.  Aside from the high-precision CO2 measurements that Charles David Keeling started at the South Pole in 1957 and the Mauna Loa Observatory in 1958, ice cores are the best source of atmospheric CO2 data for the prior 1 million years.

Scientists have been drilling ice sheets and analyzing the ice cores since the 1950s, particularly in Antarctica and Greenland.  Areas with accumulating snow turn to ice with air bubbles that preserve samples of the atmosphere from world atmospheres of the past.  Scientists are able to analyze the cores to learn about past changes in the concentration of atmospheric gases and the glacial-interglacial cycles for the past million years. 

Here, use the CO2 data and graphs to explore changes in the past, from a thousand to a million years before present.


Ice Core Research


NOAA NCEI  Ice core data

NOAA NCEI  NOAA paleoclimatology ice core datasets

NSIDC  Antarctic Glaciological Data Center

EGU 2013  Finding a 1.5 million-year record of earth's climate




NASA 2005  Paleoclimatology: The Ice Core Record

SkS  We've been through climate changes before



CO2 Past.  CO2 Present.  CO2 Future.