يتناول هذا المقال غازات الدفيئة التي ما زالت الحضارة الإنسانية تضخها في الغلاف الجوي للأرض بمعدلات تستمر في دفع التركيزات إلى الأعلى. إنه يتعلق بثاني أكسيد الكربون والغازات الأخرى التي تسخن الكوكب وتعطل مجتمعات بأكملها من الناس ، بل وأكثر من ذلك ، أنواع كاملة من الحيوانات البرية.

في 1990s ، عقدت الحكومات الوطنية قمة الأرض الضخمة والتصديقات المحلية لاتفاق لتحقيق الاستقرار في ثاني أكسيد الكربون وغازات الدفيئة الأخرى في الغلاف الجوي قبل أن تصبح المستويات خطيرة. حتى الولايات المتحدة هي إحدى الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ مع التصديق عليها في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي في أكتوبر 1992.

مرة أخرى في يونيو 1992 عندما عقدت قمة الأرض ، كان الجو أجزاء 367 لكل مليون CO2 وارتفاع متوسط ​​1.5 ppm كل سنة. الساعات العالمية على وشك أن تتناغم مع 2020 ، والجو هو 409 ppm CO2 وارتفاع متوسط ​​2.4 ppm كل سنة.
إلى الحكومات الوطنية في العالم ، لقد حان الوقت لكي يسأل الناس ، "أين الاستقرار؟"

للأسف ، فإن أكثر المؤشرات موثوقية على ما يحدث - الجو نفسه - لا يشير إلى الاستقرار في المستقبل. لن يحدث ذلك فقط دون التنفيذ المتعمد والعريض لاستراتيجيات الانتقال السريع للانتقال من الاقتصاد الهيدروكربوني غير المستدام إلى الوظائف والطاقة الخضراء الجيدة التي تحافظ على نظافة الهواء والماء لدينا.

لقد حان الوقت للناس أن يسألوا صناع سياسات الطاقة ، "أين هو الانتقال لتحقيق الاستقرار ، وللصالح العام وللمستقبل المزدهر؟" لقد حان الوقت لطرح هذه الأسئلة الملحة مع الحكومات الوطنية وواضعي السياسات وشركات الطاقة. لقد حان الوقت لرفع مستوى محادثاتنا فوق الثرثرة المناخية المعتادة — الحديث المتكرر بكلمات لطيفة الصوت مثل تقليل وتخفيف وتكييف.

إنه وقت 2019 وحقق الوقت من خلال تأريض المحادثات والخطط والالتزامات المناخية بأرقام كبيرة الحجم وترتبط بأجواء متاحة مجانًا للجميع ليراها.

لقد تعلم العلماء وتواصلوا كيف يحافظ نظام الأرض على حياة متنوعة وذكية في المحيط الحيوي ، وما هي الأنشطة البشرية التي تتدخل فيها. وهم يعلمون أن تأمين مستقبل مزدهر لا يمكن تحقيقه من خلال الاستخدام المستمر للوقود الأحفوري. إنه ليس شيئًا سنحققه من خلال توسيع البنية التحتية لاستخراج الوقود الأحفوري ونقله واستخدامه. ويواصل العلماء تذكيرنا بالإلحاح. لقد حان الوقت لجميع الشعوب والقادة الذين يرتكزون على المعرفة المتينة بالتغير البيئي لبدء التحولات المحلية والتحول العالمي. لقد حان الوقت للدفع من أجل السياسة بعد السياسة - والعمل بعد الإجراء - الذي يحقق تحولًا نحو الاستدامة طويلة الأجل. لقد حان الوقت للناس للالتقاء في مجموعات صغيرة وكبيرة ، في الأماكن العامة والخاصة ، لمضاعفة وتضاعف تركيزنا وجهودنا لتحقيق الاستقرار في الغازات المتصاعدة والمزعزعة للحياة في الجو.

نحن ، المواطنون البشر في الكوكب ، نواجه أزمة مناخ وحالة مناخ غير مسبوقة. ليس فقط لأن المناخ يغير الكوكب على نطاق واسع ، أو لأن التأثيرات تستمر في التتابع وتدهور عبر المحيط الحيوي ، أو لأن الأنشطة البشرية هي السبب الرئيسي. لا. إنها أزمة وحالة طارئة لأن مؤسسات وعادات البشرية لا تزال تفتقر إلى الالتزام بإنهاء زعزعة المحيط الحيوي الذي يحافظ على الحياة بحلول أي تاريخ أو في أي وقت في المستقبل. تتجه البشرية والكوكب نحو المستقبل الذي يزيل حرية الأسر في الازدهار عبر الأجيال. نحن نتجه نحو تمثال نصفي كارثي.

ولكن يمكن تحقيق الاستقرار السريع على مستوى الغلاف الجوي والكواكب عندما يجمع ما يكفي منا أصواتنا ونفوذنا للضغط بقوة لتحقيق الاستقرار. سيستغرق الأمر الكثير من العمل مع أشخاص لا نعرفهم ، والعمل على قضايا لا نعرفها. لكن جميع البدائل الأخرى البطيئة ونصف المقياس تؤدي إلى حدوث كساد.

CO2 الماضي.  CO2 الحاضر.  CO2 المستقبل.

Daily CO2

loading…:   loading…

loading…:  loading…

This article is about the greenhouse gases that human civilization are still pumping into the Earth’s atmosphere at rates that keep pushing concentrations ever higher. It’s about carbon dioxide and other gases that are heating the planet and disrupting whole communities of people and even more, whole species of wildlife.

In the 1990s, national governments held a monumental Earth Summit and home-country ratifications of an agreement to stabilize carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere before levels got dangerous. Even the United States is a signatory of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change with ratification in the US Senate in October 1992.

Back in June 1992 when the Earth Summit was held, the atmosphere was 367 parts per million CO2 and rising an average of 1.5 ppm per year. World clocks are now about to chime 2020, and the atmosphere is 409 ppm CO2 and rising an average of 2.4 ppm per year.
To the national governments of the world, it’s time for people to ask, “Where’s the stabilization?”

Sadly, the most reliable sign of what’s going on—the atmosphere itself—does not point to stabilization ahead. It just isn’t going to happen without deliberate, widescale implementation of rapid transition strategies to move from an unsustainable hydrocarbon economy to good, green jobs and energy that keeps our air and water clean. 

It’s time for people to ask energy policy makers, “Where’s the transition for stabilization, for the public good and for flourishing future?” It’s time to raise these urgent questions with national governments, policy makers and energy companies. It’s time to raise the level of our conversations above the usual climate chatter—the repetitive talk with nice-sounding words like reduce, mitigate and adapt.

It’s 2019 and time to get real by grounding climate conversations, plans and commitments with numbers that scale and connect with atmospheric that are freely available for all to see.

Scientists have learned and communicated how the Earth system sustains diverse and intelligent life in the biosphere, and which human activities are interfering. They know that securing a flourishing future cannot be achieved by continued use of fossil fuel. It is not something we will achieve by expanding infrastructure for fossil fuel extraction, transport and use. And scientists keep reminding us of the urgency. Now is the time for all peoples and leaders grounded in the solid knowledge of environmental change to kickstart local transitions and a global transformation. Now is the time to push for policy after policy—and action after action—that achieves a turnaround toward long-term sustainability. It’s time for people to come together in small and large groups, in public and private places, to multiply and multiply our focus and efforts to stabilize the rising, life-destabilizing gases in the atmosphere.

We, the human citizens of the planet, are facing a climate crisis and an unprecedented climate emergency. It’s not just because climates are changing planet wide, or because impacts keep cascading and worsening through the biosphere, or because human activities are the primary cause. No. It’s a crisis and emergency because the institutions and habits of humankind still lack a commitment to end the destabilization of the life-sustaining biosphere by any date or at any point in the future. Humanity and the planet are veering toward a future that strips away the freedom of families to flourish across generations. We are veering toward a catastrophic bust.

But rapid stabilization can be achieved at the atmospheric, planetary level when enough of us combine our voices and influence to push hard to stabilize. It’s going to take a lot of working with people we don’t know, and working on issues we aren’t familiar with. But all the other slow, half-measure alternatives lead to a bust.

CO2 Past.  CO2 Present.  CO2 Future.